Growing together one week at a time…(episode 5)

The generosity of God’s love

Have you ever shared an application (that you also applied for) with a friend, and your friend gets it but you don’t?

How did you feel???? 🥹

I had a recent occurrence last week. I’m not going to lie, I was in my feelings last week 🤧. I was happy for my friend but I was just like, why didn’t I get in too (in my head *I found the event and shared the link oh 🥹). When she asked if I got the registration link, I didn’t want to answer because I felt sad. I owned up that I didn’t get selected, encouraged her to stay till the end (a 6-hour virtual event), and share all the juice afterward 🥲. It wasn’t the easiest thing but heyyyyy Kashamadupe (it means, lets thank the Lord 😅).

On my way home, I was reminded of the parable in Matthew20:1-15. It talks about the parable of the vineyard workers. The landowner hired workers at different timings (early morning, 9 am, noon, 3 pm and 5 pm). When it was evening, He called for them to be paid and gave them all equal wages for the day 😳. Understandably, the workers hired in the early hours were upset (I would be too!!! Try putting yourself in there for a moment, how would you feel?). Being in a society that pays hourly, I imagined going to work at 7 am and being paid equally with someone that came at 7 pm, I might cry😅.

One of the things I am learning from this passage is the generosity of God’s love. My friend made a statement yesterday that aligned; “in retrospect, we don’t deserve it, but You (God) love us”. All that we are, will be, and have is by the grace of God given to us unmerited. The workers from the early hours protested and the landowner replied –

”“He replied to the one speaking for the rest, ‘Friend, I haven’t been unfair. We agreed on the wage of a dollar, didn’t we? So take it and go. I decided to give to the one who came last the same as you. Can’t I do what I want with my own money? Are you going to get stingy because I am generous?’“
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭20‬:‭13‬-‭15‬ ‭MSG‬‬
https://bible.com/bible/97/mat.20.13-15.MSG

Some other translations use the word “jealous” in place of stingy but I particularly like how MSG translation puts it. God is generous, God is kind, God is love and just because we see others getting that “thing” we think we deserve does not make God otherwise #Fact.

Did I think I deserved to have gotten accepted for the conference even for the fact that I shared the link? Yessss!!

Did I feel bad I didn’t? Yessss!!!

Does that change the fact that God loves me? NOO

Would I feel bad or upset if this happens again? Probably🤧🥹; growing spiritually is not a walk in the park, but this scripture is a constant reminder of God’s generous grace and love for me.

I know it’s a long read, I just had so many things on my mind and I believe there is so much more to learn from this parable. Please share in the comment section, I want to hear from you.

Have a productive week.

It’s Mother’s Day here, Happy Mother’s Day to you 🥰, Motherhood is such a sacrificial journey, so thank you!!!

PS: if this blessed you, please share the link with someone else.

See you soon.

Hadassah.

2 thoughts on “Growing together one week at a time…(episode 5)

  1. Hahaha 😂🤣😂🤣😂. Heyyyyy kashamadupe … Truly, God’s generous and impartial too. One thought I’ve always put across to my audience is that, although God is generous, loving, faithful and gracious, He will never be mocked. And whatever we sow, we must reap it. Giving in to lust of the flesh, lust of the eye and pride of life, will not release God’s generousity on us, come what may, and as such our thoughts and actions (especially those in our closet and or secret places) must conform to the ordinances of God.  Thanks for sharing and may God be with your spirit. I’ve been praying for you, do pray for me too. I need a life partner 😍 ( It’s time). Andrew Philip.

    Like

Leave a comment